Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > Masquerade / Skit Discussion

Unread 03-25-2004, 02:49 PM   #1
dani
Boots were made 4 walking

For masquerade: a so-so dance, or better nothing?

I'm attending a con in 10 days and wanted to particiapte in the masquerade to be judged on Novice Craftpersonship.

On the first and only con that I attended so far, participants who just walked through the stage to be seen but hadn't prepared an activity looked somewhat...... bland, to my eyes. A lot more attention was paid to contestants with a skit of any sort.

Being up on stage by myself, I could do a portion of a dance number. Now.. I'm NOT good at dancing. I don't want to be judged on skit presentation and I don't think me dancing would ADD value to my being on stage, but it might bring more attention than just standing there.

So the question is... a mediocre dance would help or hurt my craftmanship chances? And if not a dance... what? a walk through or something else? What's the best use of my 2 minutes of fame?

Dani

Unread 03-25-2004, 03:12 PM   #2
Menchi
Tee hee <3

hmmm i only have a few ideas maybe am right maybe am wrong...i dont know.

idea one (my fave): is do a walk on but instead of bland oh i am walking on bleh....walk on witha smile an energyas if you were modeling an having fun doing it (if the character is that way) or if the char is al dark an such do it as if you were the character. that impressed me as a cosplay judge esp if they had the costume looking great ^^

idea two: try an work a lil dance or somethin into it. if they have a form or option for noting its a craftsmanship judiging you want specify that...they may jus allow you to work a small perfomance into the walk on. but this varies from con to con though.

but either way i woud suggest putting energy an be pleasant into it most ppl like friendly faces vs the oh...ok...i...walk...on...ok...yeah
Unread 03-25-2004, 05:00 PM   #3
Xanthix
Webmonkey Extraordinaire