Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Unread 07-03-2013, 10:07 AM   #1
chibialchemist7

Does anyone here buy fabric from Hobby Lobby?

I would like to create a Masked "Marth" cosplay and well, it's my first time ever creating a cosplay! I like going to arts+craft stores, but I have never really shopped for fabrics! I was browsing the web and decided to go to Hobby Lobby's website. They have really good prices and even a 4 cents shipping sale this week! I can't exactly find what i'm looking for(mainly because I have no idea what to look for!).
I've been doing some research on fabrics, but I am mainly seeing satin fabrics on the website and from what I remember from my research, it's not really good unless you are using it to make something shiny. Could I have a little help trying to find fabrics on this site and maybe words of experience if you have bought fabrics from Hobby Lobby? If Hobby Lobby is not a good place to buy fabric, could I have recommendations for other arts+crafts stores? It's so confusing

I am trying to find fabric for the tunic and cape in this picture of Masked "Marth":

http://media.gamer.nl/site/dump/2013...ll_1443320.jpg
chibialchemist7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-03-2013, 03:19 PM   #2
TomatoandScones
The knight who says ni

Hmmm I really wouldn't reccomend hobby lobby for making costumes. The often have very good selections of quilting fabric, but not exactly the best for making a quality Cosplay. I once found a really nice print for a Lolita dress, and some faux suede for a legolas Cosplay, but other than that I have found nothing. Joann's has a slightly better quality, much better selection, and better prices(you just have to use coupons!). If you could post a reference picture we could help you pick out the correct fabric.