Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Crossplay

Unread 07-18-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
ThornSprite
Master of the Unfinished

Question Sideburns and Goatee?

Hey there,

I'm not a newbie to crossplay (seeing as that's what I do most often), but this is going to be the first time I'm doing serious facial hair. I want to do Flynn Rider from Tangled, and I want to possibly make the goatee and sideburns myself. Now, I do know about crepe wool and crepe hair, but I was wondering if anyone had tips for putting that on tulle for reusable ones? Also tips for a goatee? Thanks!
ThornSprite is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-18-2013, 09:51 PM   #2
belligerent
Viking Metal

That's how I do sideburns, actually. I've had a pair that so far I've been using almost three years, so they're quite reusable (though I'd like to make a new pair since spirit gum builds up on the back and they're kind of chunkier-looking now than I'd like).

Basically, you make a paper template of how you want your sideburns to look. Once you get that to the right size and shape (make sure it'll go up far enough into your wig's hairline that you can't see a gap...one thing I don't like about the first pair I made, since I have to be extra mindful about this with mine), use it to cut four pieces of tulle (two for each side). Then, I painted liquid latex on the tulle to get the layers to stick together...and I put thin layers of crepe hair cut roughly to the right size on, starting from the bottom, using liquid latex to adhere them to the tulle. Fan out the layers so they're kind of as thin as possible, since it looks weird if you put too much on at once. Once you get all the way to the top of your piece, let it dry while you do the other one, then trim anywhere the hair looks too long.

You can also add a little bit of crepe hair to your actual skin around the removable piece, too, if the guy you're cosplaying isn't somebody who trims super neatly, etc.