Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photo Tutorials

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 07-25-2013, 08:21 PM   #1
Princess♥Aimee
can u not

How to get started in cosplay photography?

I am a 17 year old slightly-above-amateur photographer. I've been shooting for years now with a Nikon D50 and D80 and I'd like to start cosplay photography.

However, there are some setbacks:
1. I live in Rhode Island.
2. I can't go to a con until April of next year.
3. I have no idea what I'm doing.

How does one begin cosplay photography, or even pictures of people in general? I'm used to landscape and nature/macro photography. How do you take pictures of people at cons and whatnot? Can I cosplay and also be a photographer at the same time?

As you can see I could really use some help. I've also never been to a con before (I'm really new at this). I hope someone can give me some guidance!
10% completed
Princess♥Aimee is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-26-2013, 09:58 AM   #2
Ashurachan
now behind the lens

If you don't already know cosplayers, start practicing with anyone at hand - family or friends are better than complete strangers, because you want to concentrate on the technical aspect for now. Learn how different types of light work, which angles work, what camera settings to use, this kind of thing (you already know photography, but faces are tricky to shoot properly). Start with spontaneous portraits ; a family reunion is a good moment to snap pictures while people do something else.
Once you got the hang of it, you can move on to directing models. Still do it with your friends, especially if they don't know how to pose. A lot of cosplayers aren't very good at it, so having to direct someone who's not used to posing is actually good training.