Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > General Construction Help

Unread 08-07-2013, 08:35 PM   #1
doctorkrueger
Rezz. Like Resolution.

Question Mass Effect N7 Armour Help?

Alright, I've been searching all kinds of tutorials and blogs, but I still have a few questions from a list that I've tried to narrow because I didn't want to spam the forum with things that have been answered already. I am, as the title might hint, about to begin working on a set of EVA foam armour, based on this template.

My questions, though, are as follows:

1. What thickness of foam do you suggest for this build?
2. I read that most people will use between 14-18 squares-- is this an accurate assumption?
3. I know, this is an idiotic question, but HOW ON EARTH do I work the curvature on the chestplate?! (I've never built anything with EVA before, but I have done small projects with thinner craft foam... does heat come into play? What kinds of supplies will I need for this step?)
4. Any ideas on the best paint to use over foam?
5. This part is far-off and unrelated to the foam questions, but I do want to put lighting into the back eventually... and I was wondering if anyone knew of a solid and involved tutorial (I can be fairly incompetent at times.) that would give me an idea of what I needed to do.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!
doctorkrueger is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-08-2013, 01:38 AM   #2
Kelley
Devil of Details

1. Not sure. Sometimes thickness used varies from piece to piece within a project, too.
2. You can take measurements and/or draw out a pattern to be sure. It will of course depend on the size of the foam sheets - some are larger, some smaller.
3. Yes, heat - it's the same thing as craft foam.
4. There are lots of good videos and written tutorials out there about this. Make sure you understand how and seal the foam first before painting it.