Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Costume Critique

Unread 04-20-2004, 10:24 PM   #1
kukuty8700

Cool Shield Maiden Dress

Ok so I'm new to cosplay anything and I had my uncle make me this costume (costume moocher ;P) I want your feedback on it please! Flames are welcome! The only thing that isn't accurate is the lace around the bottom and around the chest area. It's two pieces and the sleeves are longer than the skirt itself. @-@
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2004_0324Image0001.JPG (176.5 KB, 62 views)

Last edited by kukuty8700 : 04-20-2004 at 10:27 PM.
kukuty8700 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 04-20-2004, 11:10 PM   #2
Eleryth
Rollin Rollin Rollin

First thing I notice is that the ties on your arms are too low, and the sleeves are lacking the puff at the top. I also think the vest is a bit too long/high... perhaps it should be a bit lower cut at the top? Did you have it end at your hips? You might just have a long torso; that happens! We're not all built the same, ne? (if we were it'd be mighty boring). I couldn't tell if your vest has the 'quilting' lines in it, the pic is too small and not quite detailed enough. Also, the trim runs around on to the back of the vest; I can't quite tell if you did this, but it doesn't look like it.

It looks good though; I like the color and the material used for the vest. Many props to your Uncle! That's awesome. Not many people's uncles (or fathers, or grandfathers, etc) sew their costumes. And don't worry about that trim - it's near impossible to find something that looks the same.

If you wanted to work on a bit more accuracy, check out www.alleycatscratch.com, or the LOTR_costume group in Yahoo (run by the same people). Incredibly helpful and so many pictures and discussion on details.

In Toronto and like kimono? Check out the Toronto Kimono Club!
Eleryth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-20-2004, 11:52 PM   #3
kukuty8700