Go Back   Cosplay.com > US Convention Forums > Animazement

Unread 05-10-2004, 05:54 PM   #1
Finding Beauty
trust me, i'm a doctor

Weapons policy?

I know Animazement has a website, and I've actually looked at it and read the weapons policy they have posted . . . but it's not terribly clear -- to me, at least -- and since this will be my first con experience, I don't want to go ruining it by carrying in something they're going to potentially confiscate from me.

So I'm wondering if anyone knows what the definitive weapons policy is. I know logical things such as no live steel and no real guns apply, but what about materials weapons are made of otherwise? I've heard some cons don't even like wooden weapons, and ask that you stick to papier mache or something equally lightweight.
Triad Anime Convention; Greensboro, N.C.
Animazement; Raleigh, N.C.
HeroesCon; Charlotte, N.C.
Dragon*Con; Atlanta, Ga.
NC Comicon; Durham, N.C.
Finding Beauty is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 05-10-2004, 06:25 PM   #2
GreatSG
Riding the Storm Out

Yeah, the weapons policy is a little vague, but wooden weapons seem to be okay, although I accidently hit someone in the head with my bokuton and felt really bad about it, and it fell over when I had it reasting and knocked over a drink...

So be careful with those. As for guns, I saw a few people with very identifiable toy guns. So I guess you gotta be the judge yourself as to what is the best to take and what not to.
GreatSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-2004, 07:15 PM   #3
Archelon
An Old-Fashioned Cowboy

The weapons policy at Animazement is almost nonexistant. Wooden weapons are fine. Heck, you can even bring in real katanas, but you have to tie it to the scabbard so you can't remove it. Air pistols, CO2 pistols, and the like are all allowed. I just recommend to be safe make sure they have a red tip.
Archelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-2004, 07:21 PM   #4
quadrain61
Hampsters are evil