Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photo Critique

Unread 05-05-2015, 06:57 PM   #1
Sasukeuzi

Advice and critique?

Hi all, so I'm a newbie when it comes to photography, with only some second hand knowledge and a few tutorials read/watched online. I know I'm far off from calling myself a photographer and think of myself as a guy with a camera, because any monkey can take a picture with a camera and still not be a photographer, right?

Anyways, I took a few practice photos of my girlfriend, who cosplayed Hanayo from Love Live, in a park. The camera I used was a Canon T3i and the lens I used was the kit lens (18-55mm). After taking the photos, I edited some of them in Adobe Lightroom.

I wanted to receive some advice and critiques on this one photo to see what I can do better when it comes to shooting and editing.

Here's the original photo: http://i.imgur.com/lrSrn3W.jpg

And here's the edited version: http://imgur.com/aqD4bV5

One thing I do wish I had was bokeh, which is hard for me to do with a kit lens. I'm investing on a 50mm 1.8 lens, to see if that's any better.
Sasukeuzi is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 05-09-2015, 11:55 AM   #2
nathancarter
Victor Voyeur Photography

Are you shooting in raw or jpeg?
Can you post the EXIF data - aperture, shutter speed, ISO? It seems that imgur strips it.

You've got a lot of color noise, which leads me to believe that you used a high ISO - but, you've got plenty of light in the scene, so you may have been able to get away with a lower ISO, a wider aperture, and a slower shutter speed.

You can somewhat increase the Color noise reduction without losing too much detail or letting things get "mushy." The Luminance noise reduction is a little more touchy.