Go Back   Cosplay.com > Canada Convention Forums > Canada Cosplay

Unread 02-10-2005, 09:45 PM   #1
M-J

Toronto cosplayers

Hi,

I'm a Toronto journalism student, and for my feature in magazine class I'm focusing on cosplayers. I was wondering if there was a group of dedicated cosplayers who are planning on attending the Toronto Anime Convention at the end of March who I could basically profile.

What I mean by "dedicated" is that you've attended several conventions/competitions in the past, and you generally spend a lot of time/effort on your costumes. As for group, that can be any number of people.

Basically what I'd like to do is ask you about your cosplaying experiences, then go with you to the convention on the Saturday and watch the Cosplay Idol.

If anyone's interested, knows someone, or wants to discuss it further, please reply or send me an e-mail at: m7johnso@ryerson.ca. Thanks everyone - I appreciate any help!
M-J is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-10-2005, 09:50 PM   #2
Amy the Yu
Uber-Otaku

This type of thread has surfaced often and most of them seemed to have been closed down by a mod relatively quickly.

If you need people, just go to the convention and ask people if they're willing to do it there. MTAC also isn't the best place to find "dedicated" fans, since it's a small con and even if it wasn't during the school year for everyone in school during March (which is mostly everyone), a lot of people don't like going because it's a Hobbystar con and from past experiences with Hobbystar mini-cons, many "dedicated" fans find that it's just not worth the money they insist you throw at them (since we're the one that go to enough cons to know which ones are worth our money and which ones just aren't).

A lot of people will be sitting around the halls hanging out, seeing how long they can last without a ticket and a lot of people will not go at all. You'd have better luck looking for people at something like Anime North.

Next Convention: Youmacon