Go Back   Cosplay.com > US Convention Forums > Archives > Onna!

Unread 08-22-2005, 12:57 AM   #1
Misty Eyes
wanna adopt a cosplayer?

First convention. Got advice?

hi i'm new to cosplaying and i'm still currently working on my first cosplay ever. onnafest will be the first convention i go to and i'm really nervous about it. i don't know what really goes on at con's besides taking pictures. and also i don't really know anyone. does everyone just know eachother or something? lol i probably sound stupid but bare with me. i'd really like to meet some people on this site and at the con since i don't know people who cosplay.

oh yeah, i'll be going as asuka kazama (alternate costume) from tekken 5.

thanks for reading this. i look forward to meeting you guys! (lol hopefully)

Last edited by Misty Eyes : 08-22-2005 at 01:10 AM.

Unread 08-22-2005, 01:13 AM   #2
Marsha Mellow

First of all... welcome to cosplay world! It's fun as long as it doesn't get obsessive.
Here is my list of 10 things to know and do at cons...

1. You will be nauseatingly nervous until you get to the con and see all the fabulous people cosplaying like you, or people admiring you for your costume. It will be weird the first hour, but then you'll get over it and start loving the attention (hopefully).
2. At cons, you buy stuff at the exhibit hall (cute shirts and key chains), go to panels (like "learn all about voice acting", weird facts from a famous anime), take pictures, watch anime and don't forget to stop and take a breather every once in a while!
3. Make sure to take snaks and water to refuel! My friends and I could go an entire day without eating unless we remind eachother to do so. We are busy cosplayers! and food at conventions is really expensive... and UNHEALTHY. Take protein bars and water. Refuel right.