Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Makeup and Eye Contacts

Unread 01-12-2006, 02:29 PM   #1
Umi
Bass-inating

Applying theater make-up: foundations and powders

I'm doing a costume in which I'd like to make my skin appear a little darker to fit the character. I know some people have used theater makeup to successfully (and pretty naturally) make their skin look darker for cosplays.

What is the best way to apply splotch-free theater makeup? I have no experience with this type of make up so I'm looking for comparisons to regular foundations and powders and how to the best technique to use to change the appearance of skin tone. Thanks!

Unread 01-12-2006, 03:53 PM   #2
TristenCitrine
The ORANGE Life

Kryolan Aquacolor works very well and I've used it to darken my skin. You apply it with dampened makeup sponges and use kind of a patting motion on your face and/or body. I guess the closest thing to this type is Max Factor's Pan-Cake, but it doesn't go on nearly as evenly as the Aquacolor.

You set it with fixing spray, but you can use powder over it as well.

Hope that helps a little
TristenCitrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2006, 11:06 PM   #3
metamagenta
Pin Up Queen

And if you can't find fixing spray, you can always use hair spray to fix your makeup. Not that this is that great on your pores, but oh well.
Unread 01-14-2006, 05:04 PM   #4
Fallen_Jenova
Just Another Abused Uke

I use Ben-Nye.... but I'm not so sure where you can get it... I've got a catalogue from my drama teacher and ordered through them.

Persacon 2008:
Before Crisis and In Game Rufus Shinra~ Final Fantasy VII
Mello~ Death Note
Seras (yellow)~ Hellsing
Alexia Ashford~ Resident Evil Code Veronica
Reno~ Final Fantasy VII

Fallen_Jenova is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-14-2006, 05:48 PM   #5
f4lL3N_aZn
n1/\/j4