Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Makeup and Eye Contacts

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 05-28-2006, 10:29 PM   #1
Necrobug
Necrobug

latex prosthetics

Hi, I hope this counts as make up- my friends and I are cosplaying death note for Otakon this year and I am going as Ryuk.

I was wondering if anyone has ever worked with latex as far as making masks or prosthetics and could show me a trick or two?

Unread 05-29-2006, 12:57 PM   #2
galaxiahime
killer plushie queen

I've had limited experience with latex, but for attachment, you want Spirit Gum. And make sure you have make-up to blend the edges of the mask in with your skin.

This should be really cool, I'd love to see a pic!

Setsuka - Soul Calibur III / 40%
galaxiahime is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2006, 01:21 PM   #3
astillar
Cosplay Engineer

Yeah, it'd be nice to see a Deathnote Ryuk cosplay for once. But instead of making a latex mask from scratch, you could probably find a generic zombie mask and adapt it. Of course, making it from scratch would probably be cheaper, but more things can go wrong with that. From what I remember, Ryuk's face didn't have too much detail, so it doesn't necessarily have to be a custom job.

astillar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2006, 01:32 PM   #4
vampirate

I need to save this somewhere...Anyways here's what I posted on a previous call for help...copy and paste and edit a little...

Well, if you want it to fit you exactly first you take a cast of your face.

-things needed for this: bald cap, vaseline, warm water, caster stuff, "cat box", sand, plaster, measuring cup, plastic things, a friend
-The caster stuff was like what they use to make casts in hospitals. It came in rolls. It was like really loose woven threads with plaster gunk on it. Sorry I don't know exact details, school supplies and all that.
Directions for face cast.
-Clean face.
-Rip plaster stuff into little strips.