Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photography Chat

Unread 07-11-2006, 03:17 AM   #1
Demonsun
Freelance Photograhper

Question Cosplay Photography. Looking to start...

I'm a semi-professional photographer who is looking to get into taking pictures of cosplayers at cons. I was wondering how I should go about it, or if anybody has any suggestions about what portrait styles are popular.

I have about 5 years of photgraphic experience, mainly doing weddings, bar mitzfah's and several fashion shows. My style is mainly looking for spontaneous emotion and candid shots. I usually try to shoot pictures in a style which looks more natural, and doesn't look "fake".

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

PS. I will try to attend otakon this year.
Demonsun is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-11-2006, 03:57 AM   #2
Tekkie
JaniCon Adviser

Perhaps go to one and take pictures? or are you talking about getting paid for taking photographs?
Unread 07-11-2006, 07:23 AM   #3
Ollie
Between Worlds

Good luck getting candid shots at a convention. Not only is it crowded, but cosplayers are all to willing to pose for photos. If they see you, you've lost your chance. Better bring a good telephoto lens. Also note (this is a bit of a debated topic) that many cosplayers don't like having candid shots taken of them at all, even if done in good taste.

Cosplay photography is something of a mix between portraiture, fashion, and glamor. As a hired professional, you'll probably have more control over the situation than you would at a convention. In fact, cosplay photography may be more like action photography than anything else, depending on how you look at it. You'll have to learn to be quick in some cases, though many cosplayers will be happy to take a minute to pose and get several shots taken.