Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Props/Accessories/Armor

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 08-19-2006, 01:31 PM   #1
Mystic~
aka Darth Sunshine

Question Making a hilt from paperclay...

I already have a wooden sword but the hilt isn't the right shape. I want to use paper clay to make a new hilt but I have no previous experience using paper clay.

Will paper clay simply stick to the wood when it dries? Or do I need to attach it somehow?

What kind of paint should I use?

And lastly do I need to seal it with something like resin, and if so, before of after I paint it?

Note: the sword I am making is the one Zelda carries in the artwork seen in the Twilight Princess.
Mystic~ is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-19-2006, 02:25 PM   #2
Aer
rawr

A lot of times I need to extend hilts so I'll use paperclay. I just made a base out of cardboard or whatever, papier mache it so it has a nice base for the paperclay, then apply the paperclay. Sand, reapply where needed, sand, repeat. Yes it'll stick find to the wood.

I just use those cheap bottles of acrylic craft paint - oh you might want to prime it with something like gesso first (I water it down and just paint on a quick layer). That also picks up any leftover dust which you are guaranteed to get after sanding paperclay and that could potentially mix with the paint and discolor it some. Not a big deal but thats what I do.

Over top it all I just use a spray gloss to give it a finish.
Aer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-19-2006, 03:33 PM   #3
a-tastic

better sticking than paperclay (and cheaper): Hearty clay.
in fact, once you smoosh it onto surfaces like wood, it's hard to get it off.
i get mine at Hobby Lobby.

when it's dried, and it dries fast especially if you build up in thin layers (which also makes it quite firm and hard), you can sand it, paint it with whatever you like, and varnish it. once it's varnished it's very sturdy, just avoid temperature extremes.