|
|||||||
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Rate Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,307
|
Dojincon in Las Vegas?
I just noticed the ad at the top of the main forum page and I was curious, so I clicked it. Being a Las Vegan, I wanted to know more the moment I saw that it'll be at the Cashman Center.
My questions can boil dow to this: Is it genuine? They're saying that they're going to be giving away Wii consoles on November 10-12 when the official release date for Wii isn't even going to be announced until thursday. They're advertising catering by a rather expensive catering group (hooters) which may not be female-fan friendly and are advertising giving away literally tens of thousands of dollars of free prizes based on cosplay and whatnot. ... and their webpage really, REALLY needs a good spellcheck, but that's nitpicky of me. Anybody else know anything about this, though? My gut feeling is 'too good to be true. Probably false.'
__________________
The official crossplayer of Team Flex: The TransFlexual How flexy are you? http://www.quizilla.com/users/Draigo...20are%20you%3F |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
certified geek-girl
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 287
|
Plus the whole "mail us payment, and then we'll mail you tickets"
Yeah... not feeling to comfortable about that. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Hidden Sound Ninja Bling
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 679
|
its not showing up.... give us a link please
oops nevermind i see it (baka me LOL) Last edited by jinnai : 09-10-2006 at 07:14 PM. |
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Hidden Sound Ninja Bling
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 679
|
after loking into this con...i would be worried too. why is it not based locally? (mail payments to tracy,ca?)
and the guests page... looks like they copied and pasted these guys logos....and there is no info about them appearing at this con on their own personal sites....i smell something fishy! |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Hidden Sound Ninja Bling
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 679
|
I just called Cashman Center.
THERE IS NO CON ON THAT WEEK IN NOVEMBER. I call a scam on this con. |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
The Tiger Took my Family.
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 102
|
The website was registered as of August 28th 2006(thanks whois data).
Why this even got to the cosplay.com front page is beyond me. |
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,307
|
*pokes Cosplay.com admins*
Yo. You guys may wanna look into this. ![]()
__________________
The official crossplayer of Team Flex: The TransFlexual How flexy are you? http://www.quizilla.com/users/Draigo...20are%20you%3F |
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
The Tiger Took my Family.
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 102
|
![]() The plot thickens. That's off the site's /images/. Whoever put this together is either connected to cos.com(highly unlikely), or someone's trying to pull a scheme. http://www.dojincon.com/images/logo3.JPG http://www.dojincon.com/images/logo4.JPG What's this? Tucson, AZ? |
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Hidden Sound Ninja Bling
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 679
|
Another friend of mine noted that the address is linked to another address...which was used in PHISHING.
here is the whois info: Domain Name.......... dojincon.com Creation Date........ 2006-08-29 Registration Date.... 2006-08-29 Expiry Date.......... 2007-08-29 Organisation Name.... jennifer j ecker[img] Organisation Address. P O Box 99800 Organisation Address. Organisation Address. EmeryVille Organisation Address. 94662 Organisation Address. CA Organisation Address. US Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin Admin Address........ P O Box 99800 Admin Address........ Admin Address........ EmeryVille Admin Address........ 94662 Admin Address........ CA Admin Address........ US Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002 Admin Fax............ Tech Name............ PrivateRegContact TECH Tech Address......... P O Box 99800 Tech Address......... Tech Address......... EmeryVille Tech Address......... 94662 Tech Address......... CA Tech Address......... US Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002 Tech Fax............. Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com[/img] Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com From my buddy "Theranthrope": According to t3h google, EmeryVille is in the San Fansisco Bay area, on the northern outskirts of Oakland. And searching for "PO Box 99800" comes up with this interesting website: http://brucegarrett.com/brucelog/2005_10_11/ (scroll down a bit) This http://www.resellerratings.com/forum...d.php?t=115187 This http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/...hp/t-1909.html This http://discuss.pcmag.com/forums/518561001/ShowPost.aspx This http://www.joewein.de/sw/fraud-job-2005-09.htm and that's just the top links in the search. The above info is identical to other whois that were part of multiple phishing scams, a domain registration scam, a money transfer job (419) scam, "pre-release" X-box scam, overstock Ipod scam, a counterfit bigfoot plaster footprint-casting scam (I'm not making that up) and many, many other scams. Virdect: 100% pure bull. ----------end------------ So please...to those responsible, check all facts before posting any newsbit. This is NOT GOOD. Last edited by jinnai : 09-11-2006 at 02:45 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,307
|
I've just E-mailed Scott of VGcats, one of the con's "guests," making him aware of the site. The response should be... interesting.
__________________
The official crossplayer of Team Flex: The TransFlexual How flexy are you? http://www.quizilla.com/users/Draigo...20are%20you%3F |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
夢は永遠に反響する
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 872
|
Even Anime Vegas, which is been around for at least 3 years now, costs less. i've never even heard of a this con. Would a new con seriously cost $30 to prepay by the end of Sept.? Someone should PM this to Admin.
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,307
|
I already have... ^_^
Edit: Scott from VGCats, whose image is stored on the site, possibly for future use as a guest: Has never heard of it before my mail to him. Does not intend to go at this time. Whitewolf, listed on guest page: Not on schedule. E-mailed for confirmation. BFE: Not on schedule. E-mailed for confirmation. C+A+D: Not on schedule. E-mailed for confirmation.
__________________
The official crossplayer of Team Flex: The TransFlexual How flexy are you? http://www.quizilla.com/users/Draigo...20are%20you%3F Last edited by Leishu : 09-11-2006 at 05:34 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Ta daaa!
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 527
|
Wow. This is crazy. :O I was interested in this con too, but after seeing the site and reading all the posts in this thread, I, too am skeptical about this.
__________________
In Progress Costume(s) -Black Rock Shooter -Jo (Burst Angel) -Panty (Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt) Yes, I still rock a Livejournal. And what. |
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Hidden Sound Ninja Bling
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 679
|
It looks like it has been removed. Everybody, thanks for your help in tracking down this fraud.
Last edited by jinnai : 09-11-2006 at 10:04 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Administrator
Not Jackie Chan
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,864
|
Cosplay.com received a press release and a request to purchase some banner space, and posted both. As soon as I received word that the information was potentially fraudulent, I removed everything from the site and refunded their payment. Thanks to everyone for the heads-up.
|
|
|
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Rate This Thread | |
|
|